All posts by Abhishek Anand

Indian Computing Olympiad : Registrations Open

While ACM ICPC has always been the ultimate target for every graduate and post graduate student, what many people are not aware about is the Zonal Computing Olympiad ‪#‎ZCO‬ and the Zonal Olympiad in Informatics‪#‎ZIO‬ for the school students.

These competitions are meant to shortlist students who undergo vigorous training under the guidance of experienced mentors. At the end of this training, 4 students are selected who get the golden opportunity to represent India at the International Olympiad in Informatics ‪#‎IOI‬. The Leader and Deputy Leader of the Indian contingent for IOI 2014 were Prof K Narayan Kumar, Chennai Mathematical Institute, Chennai, and Nadeem Moidu, Google, respectively. IOI 2014 took place in Taipei, Taiwan during July 13–20, 2014. Akshat Bubna (Amity International School, Saket, New Delhi) won India’s first ever gold medal at IOI, while Malvika Raj Joshi (Chashak Gurukul, Mumbai) won a silver medal. Pushkar Mishra (Delhi Public School, R K Puram, New Delhi) narrowly missed winning a bronze medal.

For more information regarding IOI visit:…/International_Olympiad_in_Informa…

Earlier CBSE assisted IARCS by sending circulars to all the CBSE affiliated schools informing them about the same. However, this year onwards CBSE has decided to no longer spread the word about this competition.

Let us bring you face to face to some disappointing statistics from the previous year.
About 100 students wrote ZCO-2014 and 7400 students wrote ZIO-2014. 322 students qualified for the Indian National Olympiad in Informatics 2014 (INOI-2014). Now out of these 322, 252 students who participated in INOI-2014, 26 students qualified for the training camp to select the Indian team for the IOI-2014.

For a programmer these statistics are definitely discouraging. A programmer is not born when (s)he enters graduation. Programmers make an early start. IITs are not the only way to bag the jobs in dream companies like Facebook and Google. People from the not so well known colleges have also made up to the top positions. Anudeeep Nekkanti who is currently working in Google, Zurich is one such perfect example. It’s not your degree that matters. Your skills speak for you.

We hereby request everyone to join hands in this noble cause and spread the word about IOI. Start by teaching your siblings and cousins. Gradually progress by reaching your schools as well. Lunchtime contests at CodeChef are there to train you well and offer questions that match the IOI standards.

Please note you can take both ZIO and ZCO and still proceed to the next round. The registration fees for both the competitions is INR 225. ZCO is scheduled to be held on 6/12/1014 while ZIO will take place on 29/11/2014.

Registration Link for ZIO:…/2015/zio2015/zio2015-register.php
Last Date to register: 21/11/2014

Registration Link for ZCO:
Last Date to register: 1/12/2014

More details on INOI can be found here:
More details on IOI can be found here:

Interface 2014 : Overall Winners

Interface 2014 was held at St. Xavier’s Senior Secondary School, Civil Lines on 7th November 2014. Exun Clan bagged the overall winners trophy. The Individual Results are as follows:

Web Designing – Winners

  • Ananay Arora
  • Devansh Gandhi

RoboRash – Winners

  • Sarthak Mittal
  • Madhav Mittal

Programming – Winners

  • Shagun Goel
  • Abhishek Anand

Congratulations to all the winners!

Silico Battles 2014 : Overall Runners Up

Silico Battles 2014 was held at Alcohn Public School, Mayur Vihar on 30th-31st October 2014. Exun Clan bagged the overall runners up trophy. The Individual Results are as follows:

Group Discussion – Winners

  • Abhimanyu Sinha

Flash Presentation – Winners

  • Keshav Makker
  • Tanmay Bansal

Junior Quiz – Runners Up

  • Sudhanshu Agarwal
  • Anshuman Dixit

Android Development- Runners Up

  • Tanay Kothari
  • Tanmay Bansal

RoboWars – Second Runners Up

  • Daniel Bansal
  • Yash Arya

Crossword – Second Runners Up

  • Akshay Gupta
  • Abhishek Anand

Congratulations to all the winners!

CODE 2014 : Overall Winners

CODE 2014 was held at Apeejay School, Noida on 5th November 2014. Exun Clan bagged the overall winners trophy. The Individual Results are as follows:

Senior Quiz – Winners

  • Sambhav Anand
  • Abhishek Anand

Group Discussion – Winners

  • Abhimanyu Sinha

Gaming – Winners

  • Aryan Arora

RoboWars – Runners Up

  • Anay Mehrotra
  • Ritvik Gupta
  • Gaurav Mulchandani

Web Designing – Runners Up

  • Ananay Arora
  • Vishrut Malik

Junior Programming – Runners Up

  • Shashwat Goel
  • Aman Verma

Film Making – Runners Up

  • Devansh Gandhi/li>
  • Saumitra Khullar
  • Chaitanya Vaish

Congratulations to all the winners!

Exun g-Lite 2014

The Exun Clan presents Exun g-Lite 2014, Exun’s annual recruitment event open to all girls from classes 6th to 11th. The event will be divided into two categories :

  • Online Event : Creative Event
    The Creative Event entails the following sub-events :

    • Web Design
    • Digital Imaging
    • Audio-Video
  • Further details and topic of the creative event will be be posted soon.

  • Onsite Events

The Onsite Events will be held on 10th November, 2014. and will comprise of a myriad of events all connected to the diverse and ever changing world of technology. Further details are availablehere.

Digilogous 2014 : Overall Winners

Digilogous 2014 was held on 30th August at Rukmini Devi Public School, Pitampura.

Exun Clan bagged the Overall Trophy.

The individual results are as follows:

Programming – Winners

  • Tanay Kothari
  • Rahul Shekhar

Group Discussion/Debate – Winners

  • Neel Bakshi

Movie Making : Winners

  • Devansh Gandhi
  • Tanmay Bansal
  • Keshav Makker
  • Chaitanya Vaish

App Pitching : Winners

  • Tanay Kothari
  • Sana Gujral

Congratulations to all the winners!


ORDIN@TRIX 2014 was held on 5th August 2014 at Tagore International School, Vasant Vihar. The individual results are as follows:-

Quest@Trix [Crypting and Surprise] – Winners

  • Akshay Kumar Gupta
  • Abhishek Anand
  • Shagun Goel

Wiz@Trix [Junior Quiz] – Runners Up

  • Shashwat Goel
  • Shivastu Kartik

Congratulations to all the winners!

MINET X 2014

MINET X 2014 was held on 31st July 2014 – 1st August 2014 at The Mother’s International School. The individual results are as follows:-

Quiz – Winners

  • Bharat Kashyap
  • Vishesh Balani
  • Shiven Mian

Programming – Winners

  • Parth Mittal
  • Shagun Goel

Gaming – Runners Up

  • Sahil Guleria

CryptX – Second Runners Up

  • Whole Team

Congratulations to all the winners!