Monthly Archives: July 2011

G@teway 2011 – Overall Winners

G@teway 2011 was held on 29th July, 2011 at Montfort School, Ashok Vihar. Exun Clan bagged the Overall Winners trophy. Individual results were as follows:-

Crossword – Winners

  • Rohan Nagpal
  • Vidur Butalia

Digital Imaging – Winners

  • Akshay Sawhney
  • Akash Malik

Programming – Winners

  • Aman Agarwal
  • Sanchit Abrol

PowerPoint – Winners

  • Shagun Goel
  • Neel Lakhwani


e-Lite 2011

Exun Clan is proud to present e-Lite 2011, the intra-school IT and technology competition. It shall contain the following events:

Creative Event (Individual)

  • Classes 6-11
  • Task: You’re a freelancer specialising in one or more of the disciplines listed below. You need to create a professional portfolio showcasing your skills and work.
    • Disciplines: Animation, Digital Imaging, Audio Editing, Movie Making/Video Editing and Web Development.
  • Choosing multiple disciplines will fetch not you any extra points. We value quality over quantity.
  • Entries (including all source files) must be submitted to us either by email ( or in a CD/Flash Drive latest by the 8th of August.

Quiz (A team of maximum 2 participants)

  • Junior category (Classes 6-8)
  • Senior category (Classes 9-11)
  • The event shall consist of two rounds, namely the preliminary round and the final round.
  • The preliminary round will be a written round. Top scoring teams in the preliminary rounds for both categories shall advance to the final on-stage round.

Programming (A team of maximum 2 participants)

  • Junior category (Classes 6-8)
  • Senior category (Classes 9-11)
  • There will be 10 rounds. The first round is called Round 1 and the other is called Round 10. Teams of 10 students each are expected to participate although you are welcome to come alone.
  • Round 1
    1. Round 1 will test basic logic skills of the programmers. The duration of round 1 will be 101101 minutes. A sample paper will be uploaded shortly.
    2. All questions are based on logical thinking and NO hit and trial approach is expected. The questions can be broadly divided into three categories: Logical Type (L), Mechanical or Mathematical Type (M) and Algorithm Type (A)
    3. The top teams from each category in Round 1 shall advance to Round 10.
  • Round 10
    1. Borland Turbo C++ 3.0 and Visual Basic 6.0 will be available. Only Borland Turbo C++ 3.0 will be available for Class XI. In case you feel more comfortable with some other programming language, please contact Bhuwan Khattar (Class XII-K) regarding the same latest by Tuesday.
    2. Sample papers for Round 10 will be uploaded shortly.
    3. Programmers who qualify for Round 10 are expected to be comfortable with logical and conditional operators, nested looping, array manipulation- 1D and 2D (sorting, subsets etc) string manipulation (decryption, permutations etc) and recursive functions. Problems can be solved without prior expertise in dynamic programming. Common problems such as Djikstra’s algorithm, Eight queen problem etc. may or may not be tested.
  • New: Sample Papers

Group Discussion (Individual)

  • Junior category (Classes 6-8)
  • Senior category (Classes 9-11)
  • The event entails a discussion on an I.T. related topic in groups of six to eight participants. The topic(s) will be given on the spot. Participants may carry a pen and paper with them to jot down points.

Hardware/Benchmarking (Individual)

  • Senior category (Classes 9-11)
  • The event entails a written paper which shall primarily involve device comparisons and benchmarking of various types of hardware.

(Don’t see the event that you were hoping to find? Email us at and we’ll see if we can create an event based on your area of expertise.)

Preliminary rounds for the Seniors will be held on Monday, 25th July 2011, after school hours.
Preliminary rounds for the Juniors will be held on Tuesday, 26th July 2011, during school hours.
Final rounds for both categories will be held on Wednesday, 27th July 2011, after school hours.

Games route buses will ply on 25th July and 27th July at 3:25 PM.

Click Here to Register (Please register individually for team events. You can announce your partner at the time of the event.)

Please note that you will only be allowed to stay back and participate after school hours if your parents indicate their consent by following the link that they receive in their email.

If your parents don’t receive any email within 5 minutes of your registration, please have your parents check their Spam/Trash folders in case the mail might accidently have reached there. The automated email is sent from However, if your parents still cannot find the email, have them send an email to acknowledging their consent. The mail must contain your admission number, full name and class/section.

If you have any questions, please email us at or contact one of the following:

  • Bhuwan Khattar – XII K
  • Aishwarya Kane – XII V (For Group Discussions)
  • Mayank Sharma – XII K (For Hardware/Benchmarking)
  • Tanay Padhi – XII J (For Quiz)